Special meeting of the Commissioners, Lyndonville Joint Fire District was held on Wednesday October 25, 2023, at the Lyndonville Fire Department. The meeting opened at 7:00 PM

PRESENT: Commissioners: John Flanagan

Edward Jay David Hydock James Hydock Gary White

Secretary-Treasurer Terry Stinson - Absent Fire Dept Chief Michael Heideman - Absent

Fire Dept President David Hydock

Attorney Mark C. Butler - Absent

Public:

# **APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES**

**ON MOTION** of Commissioner White seconded by Commissioner D. Hydock, to open the Special Meeting of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

### PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

There were no community members present

# **RESOLUTION NO 2023-70**

**ON MOTION** of Commissioner Flanagan and a second by Commissioner Jay to adopt the 2024 budget as written and presented at the public hearing meeting held on October 18, 2023 – no changes made

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

#### **RESOLUTION NO 2023-71**

**ON MOTION** of Commissioner J. Hydock seconded by Commissioner White, to approve the following resolution authorizing appointment of election officials to be used for November 1, 2023 and December 12, 2023

**WHEREAS**, the Board of Fire Commissioners of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District will be conducting a special election for use of funds on November 1, 2023 and is required to conduct annual Fire District elections on the second Tuesday in December, that being December 12, 2023, and having set such date as the time for voter approval of such resolutions; and

**WHEREAS**, Town Law 175(1) requires the Board of Fire Commissioners to designate a resident fire district elector, who shall be a registered voter of the town, to act as chairman of the election, and further requires the Board of Fire Commissioners to designate not less than two nor more than four resident fire district electors, who shall be registered voters of the town to act as election inspectors and ballot clerks at such election; and

WHEREAS such law permits the board of fire commissioners to adopt a resolution providing that such chairman, election inspectors and ballot clerks shall be paid for their respective services at any annual election or at any special election of the fire district, and

Special meeting of the Commissioners, Lyndonville Joint Fire District was held on Wednesday October 25, 2023, at the Lyndonville Fire Department. The meeting opened at 7:00 PM

**WHEREAS**, Town Law 175-a(6) authorizes the Board of Fire Commissioners to provide for alternate inspectors who shall assume the of inspector upon the inability or refusal of an inspector to assume or perform their duties.

**NOW, THEREFORE IT ISRESOLVED**, that the Lyndonville Joint Fire District does hereby authorize the appointment of a qualified chairman of the special election held on November 1, 2023 and the annual election to be held on December 12, 2023 during the hours of 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., together with not less than two nor more than four qualified election inspectors and ballot clerks, and that such chairman and ballot clerks and election inspectors shall each be compensated \$70 for such; and it was further

RESOLVED, that the following people are named as in the capacity set forth adjacent to their name:

Agnes Recco: Election Chair

Susan West: Election Inspector/ Ballot Clerk

Pat Nagel: Election Inspector/ Ballot Clerk

And in the event of the inability or refusal of an inspector to assume or perform their duties the following people are appointed as Election Inspector/ Ballot Clerk (Alternate):

Paul Daigler: Election Inspector/ Ballot Clerk (Alternate)

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

#### **RESOLUTION NO 2023-71**

**ON MOTION** of Commissioner Flanagan seconded by Commissioner J. Hydock to designate January 10, 2024 at 6:00PM as the Lyndonville Joint Fire District Reorganizational Meeting to be followed by the regular meeting of the commissioners.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

**ON MOTION** of Commissioner White, seconded by Commissioner D. Hydock, to adjourn the special meeting of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District at 7:08PM.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

Terry L. Stinson
Secretary
Lyndonville Joint Fire District