Re-Organizational meeting of the Commissioners, Lyndonville Joint Fire District was held on Wednesday January 8, 2025 at the Lyndonville Fire Hall. The meeting opened at 6:00 PM

PRESENT: Commissioners: John Flanagan

David Hydock James Hydock Edward Jay Gary White

Secretary-Treasurer Terry Stinson
Fire Dept Chief Michael Heideman

Fire Dept President

Attorney Mark Butler - Absent

Public – Present:

• Organizational Meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District held on January 8, 2025, at the Lyndonville Fire Hall 148 North Main Street, Lyndonville, New York. The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Flanagan at 6:00 pm. Notice of the meeting appeared on the LJFD Website, the Lyndonville Fire Department electronic board, and was publicly posted at the Lyndonville Fire Hall.

PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR

Nothing

RESOLUTION NO 2025-1

2025 CHAIR OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRCIT OF COMMISSIONERS - John Flanagan

ON MOTION of Commissioner Jay, seconded by Commissioner White, to nominate John Flanagan as the 2025 Chair of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District of Commissioners.

Vote: 4 Ayes (D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 1 Abstain (Flanagan)

RESOLUTION NO 2025-2

2025 SECRETARY-TREASURER OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRCIT OF COMMISSIONERS – Terry Stinson

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner D. Hydock, to appoint Terry Stinson as the 2025 Secretary-Treasurer of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District of Commissioners.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-3

2025 LYNDONVILLE FIRE DEPARTMENT CHIEFS

ON MOTION of Commissioner White, seconded by Commissioner Flanagan, to confirm the 2025 Chiefs of Michael Heideman as the Chief, Danny Woodward Jr. as the 1st Assistant, TJ Heideman as the 2nd Assistant of the Lyndonville Fire Department.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-4

2024 LYNDONVILLE FIRE DEPARTMENT LINE OFFICERS

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner White, to confirm the 2025 Line Officers of James Scharlau as Captain, Anna Schuner as EMS Captain, Donald Starr as Fire Police Captain, David Hydock as President, John Flanagan as Vice-President, James Wells as Treasurer, Peter Kage as Secretary, Mike Tabor as Board of Director and Wes Bradley as Chaplain.

Re-Organizational meeting of the Commissioners, Lyndonville Joint Fire District was held on Wednesday January 8, 2025 at the Lyndonville Fire Hall. The meeting opened at 6:00 PM

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-5

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan seconded by Commissioner Jay, approval to adopt the following policies as written (last adopted 2/2024): Procurement, Code of Ethics, Workplace Violence, Sexual Harassment. Printed copies to be made available for public review.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-6

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan seconded by Commissioner Jay, approval to adopt the following policies as written (last adopted 2/2024): FOIL, Record Retention and Destruction, and Travel. Printed copies to be made available for public review.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, Jay, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-7

2025 MILAGE RATE OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRICT – INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner White, to set the mileage rate for approved travel as the rate set by the current Internal Revenue Service for 2024-2025 and the travel allowances established by IRS Regulations.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-8

2025 OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRICT – BATAVIA DAILY NEWS

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner Jay, to select the Batavia Daily News as the official newspapers of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-9

2025 OFFICIAL BANK OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRICT – M&T BANK

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner White, to utilize M&T Bank as the official bank of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-10

2025 MEETING SCHEDULE OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DISTRICT

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner Jay, to set the Commissioner's Board Meeting on the second Wednesday at the Lyndonville Joint Fire District firehouse at 6:00 pm and workshops the fourth Wednesday of the month, as needed, at 6:00 pm.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

Re-Organizational meeting of the Commissioners, Lyndonville Joint Fire District was held on Wednesday January 8, 2025 at the Lyndonville Fire Hall. The meeting opened at 6:00 PM

RESOLUTION NO 2025-11

2025 OFFICAL ATTORNEY OF THE LYNDONVILLE JOINT FIRE DIRSTRICT – Mark Butler

ON MOTION of Commissioner D. Hydock, seconded by Commissioner J. Hydock to secure Mark Butler as the official attorney of the Lyndonville Joint Fire District and to pay the retainer fee for 2025 (minus funds still remaining from 2024).

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

RESOLUTION NO 2025-12 ADVANCE APPROVAL OF CLAIMS

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners has determined to authorize payment in advance of audit claims for public utility services, postage, freight, and express charges; and

WHEREAS all such claims must be presented at the next regular meeting for audit; and

WHEREAS the claimant and the officer incurring or approving the claim are jointly and severally liable for any amount the Board of Commissioners disallows.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED;

Section 1. That the Board of Commissioners authorizes payment in advance of audit of claims for public utility services, postage, freight and express charges. All such claims must be presented at the next regular meeting for audit and the claimant and the officer incurring or approving the claims are jointly and severally liable for any amount the Board of Commissioners disallows.

Section 2. That this resolution is effective immediately.

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner D. Hydock, to the advance approval of claims as stated.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

ON MOTION of Commissioner Flanagan, seconded by Commissioner White, to close the Organizational Meeting of Lyndonville Joint Fire District at 6:06pm.

Vote: 5 Ayes (Flanagan, D. Hydock, J. Hydock, Jay, White); 0 Nays; 0 Abstain

Terry L. Stinson
Secretary
Lyndonville Joint Fire District